Est. 2009

Leapfrog Global Fiction Prize

2015 Winners

The 2015 Leapfrog Global Fiction Prize was judged by Mark Brazaitis and the winning title was Laurie Blauner’s, The Solace of Monsters. Brazaitis said of the novel, ” If Solace was like its protagonist–built from others’ body parts–it might draw its parts from Ishiguro’s Never Let Me Go, Haddon’s The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, and, naturally, Frankenstein. In the end, Solace is its own weird and wonderful creation, the story of the fifth version of a daughter who, despite being haunted by lives she never led . . . simply wants to be herself.”

  • The Solace of Monsters by Laurie Blauner (Adult)


Adult Category Judge

Mark Brazaitis is the author of seven books of fiction, including The River of Lost Voices: Stories from Guatemala, winner of the 1998 Iowa Short Fiction Award, The Incurables: Stories, winner of the 2012 Richard Sullivan Prize and the 2013 Devil’s Kitchen Reading Award in Prose, and Julia & Rodrigo, winner of the 2012 Gival Press Novel Award. His book, Truth Poker: Stories, won the 2014 Autumn House Press Fiction Competition.