Est. 2009

Leapfrog Global Fiction Prize

2011 Winners

The 2011 Leapfrog Global Fiction Prize was judged by Marge Piercy and the winning title was Allen Learst’s collection of stories, Dancing at the Gold Monkey. Donald Anderson, author of Fire Road, said of the collection, “Time jumps in this accomplished story cycle, as does the boundary betwixt reality and dream, memory and imagination. . . . And war, as it will, soaks all. Learst writes with the special visceral authority of combat seen and visions earned. Vital, necessary reading.”

  • Dancing at the Gold Monkey by Allen Learst (Adult)


Adult Category Judge

Marge Piercy has written 17 novels including The New York Times Bestseller Gone To Soldiers; the National Bestsellers Braided Lives and The Longings of Women; the classics Woman on the Edge of Time and He, She and It; and most recently Sex Wars. Among her 20 volumes of poetry the most recently published is On the Way Out, Turn Off the Light. Her critically acclaimed memoir is Sleeping with Cats. Born in center city Detroit, educated at the University of Michigan and Northwestern, the recipient of four honorary doctorates, she is active in antiwar, feminist and environmental causes.