Est. 2009

Leapfrog Global Fiction Prize

2009 Winners

The 2010 Leapfrog Global Fiction Prize was judged by Michael Mirolla and Michael Lee and the winning title was Vickie Weaver’s Bille GirlKirby Gann, author of Our Napoleon in Rags, said of the novel, “Southern Gothic to the core, suffused with a humor as dark as the bottom of a Georgia well. . . .Weaver has stepped forward for the benefit of anyone who reads American fiction.”

  • Bille Girl by Vickie Weaver (Adult)



Adult Category Judge

Michael Mirolla is an award-winning novelist, short story writer, playwright, and poet. Michael describes his fiction as a mix of magic realism, surrealism, speculative fiction and meta-fiction. Mirolla’s latest literary awards are the 2020 Reader Views Award and Hamilton Literary Award for his novella The Last News Vendor (Quattro Books, 2019) and the 2016 Bressani Literary Prize for his short story collection Lessons in Relationship Dyads (Red Hen Press, 2015).In 2010, with business partner Connie McParland, Michael took over the reins at Guernica Editions, one of Canada’s thriving independent presses.Born in Italy and raised in Montreal, Michael now makes his home in Hamilton, Ontario.

Young Adult | Middle Grade Category Judge

Michael Lee is a Norwegian-American writer and organizer. Michael is the author of The Only Worlds We Know (Button Poetry, 2019), and has received grants and scholarships from the Minnesota State Arts Board, the LOFT Literary Center, and the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference.