Est. 2009

Leapfrog Global Fiction Prize

2022 Winners

The 2022 Leapfrog Global Fiction Prize was judged by Nancy Pearl and the winning adult fiction title was a collection of short stories named Rages and Cages by author Aimee LaBrie. Pearl said of the competitions finalists, “Each one of these three finalists was a strong contender and choosing the winning entry was difficult. In the end, I went with the book that spoke to me most strongly.”

  • Rages and Cages by Aimee LaBrie (Adult)

The 2022 winner in the YA category was D. K. McCutchen for her novel Jellyfish Dreaming. This contest was judged by Rosanne Parry.

  • Jellyfish Dreaming by D. K. McCutchen


Adult Category Judge

Nancy Pearl is an American librarian, best-selling author, literary critic and the former Executive Director of the Washington Center for the Book at Seattle Public Library. Her prolific reading and her knowledge of books and literature first made her locally famous in Seattle, Washington, where she regularly appears on public radio recommending books. She achieved broader fame with Book Lust, her 2003 guide to good reading. Pearl was named 2011 Librarian of the Year by Library Journal. She is also the author of a novel titled George & Lizzie. 

Young Adult | Middle Grade Category Judge

Rosanne Parry grew up in Oregon loving its rainy days, wild places, and many libraries. She is the author of seven novels for young readers, including the NY Times best sellers A Wolf Called Wander and A Whale of the Wild which have been translated into more than 14 languages. Her first picture book is Big Truck Day! Her next novel will be A Horse Called Sky. Look for it in the fall of 2023. Rosanne is a bookseller at legendary bookstore, Annie Blooms. She lives with her family in an old farmhouse in Portland and writes in a treehouse in her backyard.