Est. 2009

Leapfrog Global Fiction Prize

2014 Winners

The 2014 Leapfrog Global Fiction Prize was judged by Mark Brazaitis and Michael Mirolla and the winning title was  The Lonesome Trials of Johnny Riles by author Gregory Hill. Barry Wightman, author of Pepperland, said of the novel, “Reading Gregory Hill’s marvelous page-turner of a second novel is like hunkering down in a psychedelic cave, buried by a flatland Colorado blizzard–with a knife at your throat. Expertly wrought weirdness abounds–you won’t want it to end. Think, a poodle with no name meets Stephen King.”

  • The Lonesome Trials of Johnny Riles by Gregory Hill  (Adult)


Adult Category Judge

Mark Brazaitis is the author of seven books of fiction, including The River of Lost Voices: Stories from Guatemala, winner of the 1998 Iowa Short Fiction Award, The Incurables: Stories, winner of the 2012 Richard Sullivan Prize and the 2013 Devil’s Kitchen Reading Award in Prose, and Julia & Rodrigo, winner of the 2012 Gival Press Novel Award. His book, Truth Poker: Stories, won the 2014 Autumn House Press Fiction Competition.

Young Adult | Middle Grade Category Judge

Michael Mirolla is an award-winning novelist, short story writer, playwright, and poet. Michael describes his fiction as a mix of magic realism, surrealism, speculative fiction and meta-fiction. Mirolla’s latest literary awards are the 2020 Reader Views Award and Hamilton Literary Award for his novella The Last News Vendor (Quattro Books, 2019) and the 2016 Bressani Literary Prize for his short story collection Lessons in Relationship Dyads (Red Hen Press, 2015). In 2010, with business partner Connie McParland, Michael took over the reins at Guernica Editions, one of Canada’s thriving independent presses. Born in Italy and raised in Montreal, Michael now makes his home in Hamilton, Ontario.