Est. 2009

Leapfrog Global Fiction Prize

2013 Winners

The 2013 Leapfrog Global Fiction Prize was judged by Lev Raphael and the winning title was David Armstrong’s collection of stories, Going Anywhere. Raphael said of the collection, “Controlled, poetically laconic prose . . . a perfect distillation of the ways that grief seems unfathomably large and mysterious.”

  • Going Anywhere by David Armstrong (Adult)


Adult Category Judge

Lev Raphael is the author of 25 other books, including the novels Winter Eyes and The German Money, and three memoirs, Journeys & Arrivals, Writing a Jewish Life, and My GermanyThe Washington Post has compared The German Money to John le Carré, Phillip Roth, and Kafka. Raphael’s Michigan mysteries have been praised by The New York Times and many other newspapers and magazines, while his fiction has been widely anthologized in the U.S. and Britain.